Updated on September 21st, 2022 at 07:22 pm

If you’ve been charged with driving under the influence in Harrisonburg, Virginia, you have reason to be concerned. Virginia DUI penalties are harsh. A conviction will leave you with a permanent criminal record, and affect your driving privileges as well as your vehicle insurance rates.

Because of this, you should never agree to plead guilty to drunk driving in Virginia without legal representation from an experienced criminal defense attorney who’ll also create a plan of action. Bob Keefer has practiced in Harrisonburg for over 35 years and has knowledge of various defenses that may work based on your situation and the judge presiding over your case.

Why Clients Turn to Experienced Attorney Keefer

  • Attorney Keefer provides free initial consultations on traffic and DUI offenses

  • Has extensive experience serving Harrisonburg, Virginia

  • He’s a certified field sobriety instructor

  • He’s a factory trained evidentiary breath test operator, and

  • He cares for clients and goes the extra mile to ensure the best possible outcome

Virginia DUI Conviction Consequences

DUI convictions in Virginia are not only serious but have lasting consequences. You should evaluate these consequences before pleading guilty:

First DUI offense penalty (class 1 misdemeanor):

  • 1-year license revocation

  • A $250 minimum fine

  • Possible mandatory jail sentence depending on BAC

And if there’s an underage passenger in the vehicle, you may get an additional:

  • Mandatory 5 days jail time

  • Fine between $500 and $1,000

Second DUI Offense Penalties

  • A $500 minimum fine

  • Driver’s license revocation for three years

  • Possible 12 months in jail

  • If the second criminal conviction is within five years of the first offense, there’s a mandatory 20+ days jail term. If it’s within the first ten years, you get 10 days in jail

You can be charged with underage DUI if you are under 21 and record a BAC level between 0.02 and 0.08 (the adult limit). Underage offenders face:

  • Driving license suspension for 12 months

  • A minimum $500 fine

  • Community service of 50+ hours

If an underage surpasses the adult legal limit, they face criminal charges for driving under the influence instead of an underage drinking charge.

Aside from the above, you may also lose your security clearance, and ability to travel to some countries or rent a vehicle. Unfortunately, the justice system isn’t obligated to inform you of all of these consequences before taking your plea.

What is Virginia’s Implied Consent Law?

Virginia’s Implied consent Law states that anyone driving on public roads in Virginia automatically consents to submit to breath and blood tests and is arrested for drunk driving within three hours of operating a vehicle.

However, there’s often confusion about when one can refuse to submit to the tests. Generally, you have the right to turn down a preliminary breathalyzer test (PBT) and field sobriety tests. Refusing to take these tests won’t attract penalties, but the police officer may still arrest you.

You cannot refuse to submit to an evidentiary breathalyzer test (chemical test) that a professional administers at the police station without consequences. Refusal of these tests may attract additional charges and harsher punishments.

The first-time breathalyzer test refusal is punishable by license revocation for a year, and subsequent refusals can carry 12 months in jail, license revocation for a year, and a $2,500 fine.

Law enforcement officers aren’t obligated to allow you to call an experienced criminal defense law firm such as the Keefer Law Firm, during or after an arrest. So, you’ll decide to accept or refuse a breath or blood test on your own. Whatever choice you make, contact our Harrisonburg DUI lawyer Robert Keefer to start preparing your defense.

Get Yourself Effective and Aggressive Defense Today

At Keefer Law Firm, our criminal defense lawyers work closely with you offering legal advice and helping you understand your options with the DUI charges they’re facing. We take pride in being transparent and upfront with potential outcomes but work hard to deliver positive outcomes on criminal matters.

If you have questions about the legal process, our experienced lawyers will explain everything in simple terms. You can reach us at (540) 433-6906 or fill out our contact form.

Protect Your Driving Privileges

Call Keefer Law Firm at (540) 433-6906

Our Clients Think Highly of Us.

Read What They Have to Say.

“I can not express the words of how glad and thankful I am to you.”
Monica
“Thank you again for all your help.”
Jenna C.
“Thanks for the fantastic job you’ve done legally as well as just the personal support you gave me during that time.”
Danny D.
“We greatly appreciate his assistance.”
Parent of a college student
“It all went exactly as he told me with no fuss or surprises.”
Michael
“He was very understanding and we felt very confident in the way he was handling everything.”
Parent of a college student

“He knows his stuff!!!”

Anonymous

“Bob is a man of integrity and will honestly guide you through the process of pros and cons of your case.”

Ginger

“JOB WELL DONE!!!”

David Tran, Sr.

“His expertise and experience in navigating the legal shoals and mastering scientific evidence in DUI cases resulted in a reduction of charges!”

John

“Unlike others who just promise you, Bob actually gets the job done.”

Former Client

“I could not have asked for a better result”

Matt

“He portrayed a realistic picture of outcomes for my case and was as honest with me as I would expect any professional to be.”

Matt

“He did a great job representing me in court!”

College Student

“They are fairly priced, very competent, professionals.”

William

When You Need a Traffic Lawyer,

Keefer Law Firm Can Help.

  1. Attorney Keefer is one of the few people in Virginia to call himself an NHTSA Certified Field Sobriety Instructor.
  2. He has completed the DOT Certified Breath Technician course on the EC/IR II, Virginia’s breath tester for evidence.
  3. He was a founding member of the DUI Defense Lawyers Association and is a member of the National College for DUI Defense.
  4. Attorney Keefer’s Harrisonburg Law Firm has more than 3 decades of experience providing legal representation throughout Virginia.
  5. Our office contains the Alco-Sensor III, which is also used by law enforcement for preliminary breath testing during a drunk driving charge.
  6. We offer free consultations for criminal matters such as traffic violations, criminal offenses, and DUI cases.
  7. For legal advice, extensive experience, and an aggressive defense strategy, contact criminal justice lawyer Bob Keefer at (540) 433-6906 or fill out a contact form here.